Faith. Family. Friends. Food. Fun. Finances.

How do you prioritize this list?

Faith.  Family.  Friends.  Food.  Fun.  Finances.

We have suffered a lot of loss the last couple of years, and it has prompted introspection and evaluation of what is important in life.

Marci and I have lost both of our Dads, several aunts and uncles, extended family, friends of family, family of friends, colleagues and coworkers. Go a little further in time and an even larger group of folks who have been influential in our lives have passed from this fading scene.

Faith. Family. Friends. Food. Fun. Finances.

That is the order they came to mind for me, so it is likely a pretty good ranking.

A bit more depth:

Faith: Our Creator has something in mind for us beyond this life.

If you care to understand more about my faith, you could watch the links to some of the funerals I have attended recently.

Links

Harold Smith (gather.app) funeral link

Family, friends, food and fun all seem to be intertwined for us. Food and fun are frequently part of our interaction with others. I am willing to spend money to enjoy time with those important to us, so that confirms the order for me.  

Where does my real estate business fit into this list? That was perplexing to me at first.

Most of my waking hours are spent on various aspects of working for my clients and customers, so it is obviously important.

Home and family. That is the connection. Home is where folks raise a family and spend time with those they love. My job is to guide people in choosing the right home for their situation and lifestyle.

When the time comes to sell, I bring strategies to the table to achieve full market value, and then we find the next home, at the right price.

Real estate investments and the family home are a big part of the financial picture for most Americans. They need to trust their adviser is giving good advice. My job is to help them choose wisely based on current market realities.

When I serve my clients and customers well, my own finances will be taken care of. That is why I focus on them, not on myself.

I share all of this as a reminder that life is short. Figure out what is important to you and focus on those you love.

If changing priorities mean it is time to change your address, call me. That is my specialty. Even outside of Florida, I am a member of several national and international real estate networks. I can refer you to a top agent in your area who has the attention to detail you deserve.

All the Best,

Jim Sweat

Leave a comment